Thanks For Sleeping On It, I Guess

, , , , , | Working | January 7, 2021

In 2018, as a high school graduation gift, I go on a solo trip to Spain and Portugal. During the Madrid leg of the trip, I have booked a room at a hotel for four days, with the plan to take a train on the fourth day to leave for Seville. On the evening of the second day, I have this interaction.

Receptionist: “Good evening. How was your last day here in Madrid?”

Me: “It was great, thank you… Wait, last day? I still have two more days.”

Receptionist: “Are you sure? You appear to have booked for two days only; you’ll have to leave tomorrow.”

Me: “Did I? I’m pretty sure I booked for four nights, not two.”

Receptionist: *Smugly* “Well, I surely didn’t mess up writing it down, so…”

Me: *Trying to keep calm* “Are you absolutely, 100% sure? Can’t you double-check?”

Receptionist: “I’m certain beyond doubt and I won’t check again. So, prepare to check out tomorrow.”

I’m worried and kind of scared. I can’t change my train’s reservation, and even if I could, there is no guarantee the hotel in Seville will have a room available, anyway. But, keeping my calm, I go to my room and pack up hurriedly. After a night of troubled sleep, I go on a hunt for a new place to stay for two nights, taking me the entire morning searching the Internet and making physical visits, leaving me almost one hundred euros poorer than anticipated. The same day, in the evening, I receive a call.

Receptionist: *Sheepish* “Hello? Are we talking to Mr. [My Name]?”

Me: “Yes, what is it now?”

Receptionist: “Turns out, you did book for four days… I mixed up the room numbers. My manager asked me if you’d like a refund for the inconvenience, or if you want your room back.” 

Me: *Barely suppressing my rage* “I’d like to have a refund; I’m certainly not going back after nearly spending 100€ for a new place to sleep in.”

I did get my refund eventually, though I definitely noted the receptionist’s behaviour in the review for the hotel.

1 Thumbs
518

Tattootally Unacceptable Behavior, Part 3

, , , | Right | January 4, 2021

I’m working at the front desk of a hotel.

Guest: “So, I’m getting a tattoo on Friday.”

I say something vaguely encouraging.

Guest: “Well, the thing is, we aren’t supposed to have guests in our room — company’s contract with the workers — so I was wondering if we could do it down here?”

Me:What?! You want to do a tattoo down here?! No! No, you may not!”

Guest: “Are you sure?”

Me: “Yes, you may not get a tattoo in our lobby or your room. You need to go to a reputable shop!”

My manager just stared at me for a full thirty seconds before pretending to run her head into a wall when I told her. I made sure all the clerks and housekeeping were aware of it on the possible day of tattooing.

Related:
Tattootally Unacceptable Behavior, Part 2
Tattootally Unacceptable Behavior

1 Thumbs
344

The Microwave Wasn’t The Safe Option

, , , | Right | January 3, 2021

I am working at the front desk of a mid-level hotel. We have a full house because of a Phish concert nearby. The rooms do have a mini-fridge and coffee setup but no microwave unless requested.

Guest: “Can I have a microwave delivered?”

Me: “Sure, I’ll send one up in a few moments.”

About an hour later, the guest calls again.

Guest: “The porter delivered the microwave but it doesn’t seem to be working.”

Me: “I’m sorry, I’ll send a new one up and ask that they test it when it arrives in the room.”

I never hear from the guest the rest of the night but the porter confirms that it did work. The next day, the guest calls down, irate.

Guest: “I’ve had five microwaves sent to my room and not one has worked! I’m not paying for my room because I couldn’t eat during my stay!”

Me: “I’m so sorry for your experience! I spoke with you last night and did send a new one but only one replacement. Did you have further issues last night? I left six hours after your last request and the porter confirmed that the microwave worked upon delivery.”

Guest: “Are you calling me a liar?! I wasted over an hour trying to find something to eat and went to bed hungry!”

Me: “I’m sorry to hear that! Did you contact the front desk to fix the issue?”

Guest: “Of course, I did! They told me there was no other option; you made me starve all night!”

Me: “Were you made aware of the full-service restaurant in the hotel that has food available twenty-four hours a day or the snack market that is also open twenty-four hours a day?”

Guest: “Of course! I won’t pay those prices because it’s a total scam to pay $2 for a bag of chips!”

Me: “Would you mind if I came and checked the microwave in person so I can see if it’s an electrical issue or the microwave?”

The guest agreed and I went to the room. I found the average, plugged-in microwave to be in perfect working order. That’s when the guest turned bright red and admitted they thought the room safe located in the closed cabinet below the dresser was the microwave.

Shortly after, I got a call from housekeeping asking if they should keep the spoiled food that was locked in the safe.

The guest paid full price for the room. I did find out later that the night audit tried to bring a new microwave, offered to heat the food in a break room, and offered several choices of delivery restaurants or all-night restaurants, as well as the on-property options. The client declined.

1 Thumbs
541

At Least They Weren’t Hostile!

, , , | Friendly | December 29, 2020

I booked a bed in a dormitory in a hostel for five days. In the dormitory, there are eight beds. However, when I arrive, I am the only one in that room the first day. You can rent bed linen and stuff, but I decided to save a little money and brought my own.

The next day, I go to the convention centre, leaving the room with seven beds with no bed linen, and the bed I had chosen with my bedlinen.

Late that evening, I return to the room, where some other guests have now arrived. However, as I come to my bed, I am very surprised to see someone actually asleep in my bed.

As I am rather tired, and I’m a very peaceful person, I call the emergency number and explain that somebody seems to have occupied my bed.

No problem; I get to borrow their linen free of charge and get to pick another bed. 

It turned out that the next morning I was up early, and he was still sound asleep, so I went down to the reception and explained the situation as I had to leave for the convention again rather early.

When I returned the next evening, my bed linen was nicely piled up on my bed, together with a candy bar and a note.

Note: “Sorry about the mixup!”

But I wonder how tired you are when you decide to take the only bed that has linen in an eight-bed dormitory. Wasn’t it obvious that the bed is already taken?

1 Thumbs
277

We’re Really Starting To Get Heated Over This Hotel Staff

, , , , , , | Working | December 29, 2020

I am the author of this story and a few others. Here is another story from the same hotel.

Every winter holiday season, our catering department holds a holiday banquet where people can buy tickets and come and eat at the buffet. This runs over the course of multiple days.

Our catering department puts up decorated trees and lights everywhere in the lobby and ballroom. The electrical breakers periodically pop because, between the lights and the heated buffet tables, it is just too much.

This leads to a cycle where the maintenance staff unplug lights to keep the buffet running, but then the catering manager just goes and plugs all the lights back in, and around and around.

The solution that management comes up with is this.

One maintenance worker is selected to stand at the electrical breaker panel during the banquet hours with an oven mitt on to turn breakers back on when they pop. Why the oven mitt, you ask? Because the panel gets so hot that he can’t touch it with his bare hands.

Related:
This Whole Staff Is Totally Methed Up
In This Case, MOD Apparently Stands For Master Of Drunkenness

1 Thumbs
260