Unfiltered Story #57186

Unfiltered | May 29, 2017

(I am a celiac, so I can’t eat anything containing wheat, barley, or rye. This happened a few years ago when I was out for dinner with my boyfriend. The restaurant has gluten free buns for the burgers, so I’m looking at the burgers.)

Me: (to the waitress) Excuse me, I was wondering if the black bean burger is gluten free?

Waitress: I’m not sure, let me go ask the chef.

(She comes back with the all clear, so i order the burger. on our way home, i start feeling sick, and i realize that something I ate wasn’t safe. While I’m confined to the bathroom, my boyfriend calls the restaurant. After the call, he tells me that the cook said there was no wheat, but there are bread crumbs! How do you get to be a cook not knowing that bread crumbs have wheat? we never went back.)